Beauty and the Beast – Film Review

In the past, I’ve held back from watching Disney’s live action remakes of old classics because I didn’t want to see them ruin the films for what they were so when I heard that they were remaking one of my favourite Disney classics, I was a little aprehensive but decided to give it a go, especially since one of my favourite actresses was playing the lead, and I was pleasantly suprised at how much I loved it.

When I heard that Emma Watson actually sung in the film, I wasn’t too sure what to make of that fact as I had never actually heard her sing before since I’d only seen her in Harry Potter and Perks of Being a Wallflower before she trotted off to university but she really put her own unique spin on the songs and I loved it! She played the part of Belle beautifully, with a fiesty feministic attitude however also showing a sensitive side to the character when it comes to the love of her father.

Not only does the film recreate the original songs from the classic but there are also a couple more brand new ones that have been written specifically for the film which are fantastic within themselves and I honestly can’t wait to get my hands on the soundtrack!

The special effects, the acting, the musical numbers.. it was all 10x better than I imagined it would be and I’m so happy that I made the decision to go and see it at my local cinema, in fact, as soon as it comes out on disk, I’m sure to be one of the first to grab it! If you have the chance, I highly recommend that you go and give it a watch.

One thought on “Beauty and the Beast – Film Review

Leave a Reply

