#GGBlogChallenge Introduction

I was aimlessly scrolling through my WordPress reader the other day when I came across someone who was partaking in the #GGBlogChallenge, unfortunately, I can’t remember who’s blog I saw it on so I can’t link them to it but I was really interested in what this blog challenge was, so after a little bit of digging, I came across EverydayAimee’s blog and found out that that’s where it originated. After reading through the list of posts for the challenge, I really wanted to give it ago, even though I probably won’t be able to post everyday because of my job but I’ll try my best! I hope I’m not too late but here we go with the first post.

The first one says to introduce yourself and talk a little bit about your hometown, so I guess the easiest thing to say is Hi. I’m really awkward with these type of things as you can probably tell by my ‘About Me’ page if you’ve read it.. if you haven’t, then my name’s Sophia, hi, pleased to meet you and I recently turned 18 years old, which frightens me a little bit but you can find a post about that here. I currently reside in Plymouth and I think that’s about it.. I can’t really think of anything else to say..

As for my hometown, it’s really tiny but it does have some cool facts about it, for example, a certain character from a certain popular book series about a young wizard was named after it.. yep. You got it. Harry Potter. A character in Harry Potter was named after my hometown. As everyone knows, J.K. Rowling came up with the idea while on a train, and the train she was on just so happened to pass by my hometown and thus the character of Professor Flitwick was born. It does slightly annoy me that everyone pronounces the ‘W’ though, when it’s meant to be silent and said as ‘Flitick’ but hey ho, it’ll do!

There’s also a tiny village next to my hometown called Ampthill, and it really is a horse and carriage town. The roads are small, the pavement is hilly and all that’s happened since the second world war is that the buildings have had a lick of paint. Other than that, I imagine it looks the same as it did back then, although Ampthill holds a pretty amazing fact as well. About a year ago, I was chatting with a gentleman who was a chaplain during the second world war in Ampthill and he informed me that back in those days, when the upstairs of the shops were converted into a hospital, Florence Nightingale was stationed there for a bit during the war. Yep, that’s right. The Lady of the Lamp that we all learnt about in our history lessons? She was stationed at the next connecting village over!

That’s just a little example of what I love about my hometown. It’s such a small village that no one’s ever heard of yet it holds so much history within its borders.

80CFF9FF7EB7502BDCBAC35A76F3DFCC

This entry was posted in Tags and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #GGBlogChallenge Introduction

  1. aimeecaitlin says:

    welcome to the challenge! so glad you decided to join us! thats so exciting about inspiring a harry potter character!
    FYI there is a link up post where you can post your day to day blogs for the challenge on my site

    Like

Leave a Reply

