Suicide Squad – Movie Review

Suicide_Squad_(film)_Poster

Suicide Squad

Director: David Ayer

Distributed by: Warner Bros Pictures

Running Time: 123 Minutes

Cinema Release Date: 5th August 2016

 

 

I’ve never really been too interested in DC comics as I much prefer Marvel, and I guess you could say I’m more of a Spider-Man girl but when from I’ve read of the comics, and from what I’ve seen of the Batman films, it was enough to intrigue me into wanting to go and watch Suicide Squad.

After reading a few reviews of the film before my visit, it seemed that a whole lot of people weren’t overly impressed by the film, however I’m not one to be swayed by others opinions and so I went with an open mind, and honestly although it did have faults, I quite enjoyed it.

I do feel like it took me a while to fully get into it because for the first 2o minutes or so, I had no idea of what was going on and it simply felt like the beginning was just dragging on with introducing the different characters, whereas I’d much rather that it got on with the plot rather than dancing around the edges.

The only back story that I actually cared about was Deadshot’s, as it felt that he actually had something to fight for in a way, and it was evident that his love for his daughter was eminent. I haven’t seen many of Will Smith’s films, and I think it’s safe to say that this character is a far cry from The Fresh Prince of Bel Air but I feel like Will pulled this character off better than any of the others and I honestly wouldn’t mind a film centred purely on Deadshot and what his life was like prior to this film, with Will Smith still playing the character. I definitely feel like this film wouldn’t be what it was without Will
Smith.

I did feel that the casting of Cara Delevingne as the Enchantress was a bit of a random choice. Don’t get me wrong, she wasn’t and isn’t a bad actress at all, I just felt as though someone else would be better suited at this role, or it would have been better had she still played Dr. June Moone and the Director had chosen another actress to play the Enchantress as she’s supposed to be a completely different person who has taken over the Dr.’s body, so I still have yet to understand why she looks like the Dr.

The one thing that I was worried about before I went to see this, is that they would create the whole movie to be centred around Harley Quinn’s relationship with the Joker and although they didn’t do that, they still made some point of romanticising their abusive relationship. It almost felt as though Harley’s character was only put into this film as eye candy for male viewers and to show her devotion towards the Joker however, I do agree with the widely shared opinion that Margot Robbie was a fantastic Harley Quinn, and I can’t quite imagine anyone else playing her.

I guess this is the part where we talk about the Joker right? I personally don’t think Jared Leto did too bad. So many people say that he was terrible at the role but I feel like part of that is because a lot of his scenes were cut out of the final edit and taking on the role of Joker after Jack Nicholson and Heath Ledger is a big responsibility, especially as both of the previous actors were notably memorable at the role. He didn’t play the role like the previous actors, instead he added a more psychotic, creepy and darkly serious twist on the character and for some reason, I think it works. Although I did mention that some of his scenes had been cut, I think it’s important to remember that the Joker isn’t part of the Suicide Squad, and therefore only appears to help with parts of the storyline and some character development.

I feel as though with a little more care and attention, this film could be exactly what is cracked up to be, although I did fairly enjoy it as it was. I’ve also heard on the grapevine that Margot Robbie will be reprising her role as Harley Quinn in a new film that it’s the works that’s centred purely on her character so I will be looking forward to that and I very much recommend that you do go and see the film, and make sure to form your own opinion. It’s worth a watch.

80CFF9FF7EB7502BDCBAC35A76F3DFCC

 

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Suicide Squad – Movie Review

  1. Maria Smith says:

    Great review Sophia, couldn’t agree more!
    It was a film I was happy to say I’ve seen but probably wont rush out to buy the dvd. I am much more of a Marvel fan too.
    Maria x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

