Forgiveness

This past year, I’ve learnt a lot about forgiveness.

I used to be notorious for holding grudges against those who did me wrong, and it would eat me up inside for a so many weeks, months and years, until I realised, for each and every person that I forgave, I healed a wound of my own, whether they deserved my forgiveness or not.

The things that I needed to forgive people for, were eating me up inside and in order to let go and move on with my life, I had to forgive them.

I had to forgive two people who weren’t even sorry for what they did. That, is the hardest thing to forgive someone for.

I did everything I ever could and more for one person, with not even a ‘thank you’ being received. I was used. I was made to feel like absolute crap and my mental health deteriorated. However, after waiting months and months for a thank you and an apology that I would never receive, I decided that it was best for my mental health and I, to forgive.

I also had to forgive someone who stole my childhood innocence from me. Approaching 18, I refused to take that pain into my adulthood and allow it to control me any longer. In order to leave it in the past, I had to forgive him.

When you learn to forgive, it feels like a weight has just been lifted from your shoulders.

Forgiveness doesn’t excuse someones behaviour. Forgiveness simply prevents their behaviour from destroying your heart.

Sophia x

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Forgiveness

  1. You’re so strong for being so forgiving to people that might not even deserve it. From my own experiences, I know how hard it is to forgive someone that really hurt you, but it’s definitely for the best, no matter the outcome! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

