We Need Feminism Because..

I’m not one of those feminists that believes women are superior to men, because we aren’t.

I’m one of those feminists that believes in the social, economic and political equality between the sexes but there a whole bunch of reasons as to why, as a society, we need feminism.

We need feminism because as a girl in this society, I am taught not to go out at night alone, whereas my male counterparts are freely allowed to roam the streets after dark with minimal to no fear.

We need feminism because I am expected to be flattered when a man whistles or cat calls me in the street.

We need feminism because it’s not okay when a glimpse of my bra strap is showing, but it’s seemingly okay when a man wears his trousers halfway down his thighs.

We need feminism because women get paid over 20% less than their male colleagues for doing the same job.

We need feminism because those women need to justify why equality payment is important.

We need feminism because if all females woke up one morning, deciding that they loved themselves, just think about how many businesses would go out of business.

We need feminism because phrases such as ‘You throw like a girl’, and ‘Don’t be such a girl’, is considered an insult.

We need feminism because our society thinks that it’s degrading to be feminine.

We need feminism because 1 in 5 women will be raped or sexually assaulted in their lifetime.

We need feminism because society teaches ‘Don’t BE raped’, rather than ‘Don’t rape’.

We need feminism because what she was wearing, shouldn’t matter.

We need feminism because society taught me that it was my fault that I was sexually abused because I was wearing shorts. I was nine.

We need feminism because I have to sit here and explain why I’m a feminist, with justified reasons.

As a feminist though, I also firmly because that women should be drafted in the same way as men if necessary.

As a feminist, I believe that women should be given the same sentence as men, and shouldn’t be let off on a lighter sentence, just because they’re women.

As a feminist, I believe that female abusers should be held at the same level as male abusers.

As a feminist, I believe that male rape and sexual abuse victims, deserve the exact same attention as female victims. They also deserve to have their voices heard.

As a feminist, I believe in the complete equality of the genders, even if it isn’t beneficial to me.

Sophia x

3 thoughts on “We Need Feminism Because..

Leave a Reply

