Father vs. Dad

I’m sure a lot of you know that it’s Father’s Day today, and you most likely celebrating it with your dad, but I wanted to just put out there what the definition of a dad is to me and how it’s different to that of a father.

To me, a father is someone who lays down with a woman and creates a life. A child. Anyone can be a father.

A dad is someone who raises that child and guides them through life. It takes someone with real guts to be a dad.

That is the main difference to me, and I fully admire the men who stay to raise their own children and watch them grow, and the men who step up when the boys step down because that what they are. Boys. Only a real man will acknowledge his child and raise them.

I’m not saying to be a dad, a man has to be with the child’s mother, I’m not saying that all. What I am saying is that no matter what issues the father has with the mother, that should not get in the way of the child’s upbringing, although, those boys that do step down and leave the mother alone, I have the utmost admiration for the mothers who have to play both parts of the mother and the father.

I’m aware that this is a fairly short post, but I just wanted to get this out there, and to say a huge happy father’s day to all the dads out there, including the ones that stepped up when others stepped down, the mothers that had to take on both parts of parenting, and the father’s that cannot be with their children today.

Sophia x

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

