Battling With The Brain

As some of you may or may not know, this week is Mental Health Awareness Week (MHAW), and so, I figured that since I haven’t written a post in a fair while, this would be a better time as any right?

I’ve watched a number of family members and essentially all my friends have to go through a long period of battling their own brains and I, myself, have had to go through it as well. Mainly, the worst thing about having a mental illness is feeling alone, and feeling like you can’t tell a soul about what’s going on inside your head although I am lucky to say that I had such a fantastic support system in my friends and family that it takes off the load a tiny bit and helps me feel a bit less isolated.

The subject of mental illness and depression is still taboo which is quite sad in a way, due to the fact that so many people are suffering with it, however, this is mostly due to people’s lack of understanding of it. Now, I originally was going to write a blog post about how it feels, and to try and give people an insight into it, and to give those who are suffering with it, knowledge that it does in fact, get better however, I remember stumbling across a video on youtube a few years back, and figured that this gentleman explains it in a much better way, that I potentially ever could. Admittedly, it’s 15 minutes long, but please do watch until the end.

Sophia x

This entry was posted in Personal, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

