Me, Myself and I

Self love and self care are the most important things a person can do for themselves. I’m going to put that out there straight away. Although, I’m disappointed in myself that it has taken me near enough 18 years to realise this.

As you may have seen in my last post, I’ve been having some issues lately with situations in my life, and just when I begin to see a light at the end of the tunnel, the light ends up just being another train, which isn’t particularly helping my mental state, and as well as this, I have always been more bothered about the people surrounding me. My friends, my family, my peers.. I’ve always been more caring about them and how they’re feeling than I have been about myself, which means that I’ve sub consciously taught them and myself, that I come second, and I’ve only just come to terms with the fact that it’s about time, I started putting myself and my own mental state first.

I’ve been growing up in a world that has told me that I will never be pretty enough, I will never be smart enough, I will never be skinny enough and I will never simply be enough. For a while, I believed it. Some times, when I’m alone at 3am in the morning, I still believe it but I’m trying not to. Every single day, I’m trying my best and as long as I’m trying, that is good enough. As long as I never stop trying, that is more than good enough. The hardest person to love is yourself, but when you begin to try, it will get easier.

Life will throw everything at you. The good, the bad, the absolutely heartbreaking moment, the moments that will make you laugh until your stomach hurts, and sometimes, life will throw all of these moments at you in one week, or even in one day but you have to keep going. You have to keep pushing through and you have to remember to never ever lose sight of what you want and remember to take care of yourself. As selfish as it may sound, or you may feel, sometimes, you have to make yourself the most important person in your life because no one on this earth will want anything for you, more than you will want it for yourself and at the end of the day, you are in the driving seat of your own life. You are the one responsible for your happiness. Sometimes, rather than looking out for everyone else, you need to take care of me, myself and I.

Sophia x

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

