Inspirational Women

As some of you may have seen all over the internet, yesterday was International Women’s Day. A day that celebrates love and respect towards women for their economic, political and social achievements, and so, I just wanted to share with you guys, just a few women that personally, I find extremely inspirational.

Emma Watson

“I think it is right that I am paid the same as my male counterparts. I think it is right that I should be able to make decisions about my own body. I think it is right that women be involved, on my behalf, in the policies and the decisions that will affect my life. I think it is right that socially, I am afforded the same respect as men.”

Obvious choice, I know, but I don’t just love this woman because she portrayed Hermione Granger, in my favourite book series ever. I love her because of how she portrayed the young witch, and I also love how she portrays herself to young girls, and focuses on fighting for the rights of women. There are number of things that she has spoken about in the media such as, sexism,  gender equality, body image.. you name it, Emma has probably spoken about it. Being that she was a child actor, in one of the most successful film series in the world, I find it so amazing that she turned out how she did, I mean, we all know how most child stars turn out nowadays.. right? But she used that level of fame that she had, and she used it for good. To instil a fantastic image for young girls to follow.

Ellen Page

“This world would be a whole lot better, if we just made an effort to be less horrible to one another”

I’ve always loved her for her acting, but her speech at the Human Rights Campaign Conference, back in 2014 really touched me. The bravery that it took her to stand in front of so many people, knowing that she would perhaps be judged by almost the whole world, and essentially come out as lesbian, is astonishing and I feel like that helped so many young people nowadays. Throughout the speech, you can see her physcially see her trying to muster up to courage to tell people who she really is, and when she does, she is met with applause from the audience. During the conference, she speaks about social ‘norms’ and how we should simply stop judging one another, and I feel like the speech itself has helped so many young people. If you want to watch the speech, you can find it here.

Demi Lovato

“You can turn your life around. You can go through hell and back. It is possible. Never underestimate yourself. I believe in you.”

It’s widely known by almost everybody  of the struggles that Demi Lovato went through. Throughout her life, she had suffered with depression, an eating disorder, self harm, drug abuse and also being bullied, all before she was checked in to rehab at the tender age of 18, in November 2010. During her treatment, she was also diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder. In March 2012, MTV aired a documentary in which Demi had been working on, about the rehab that she had attended and about her recovery. Now, in March 2016, she is a stable relationship, releasing more music, and has recently started the Lovato Treatment Scholarship Program. The fact that she was struggling with all of these issues, and has turned her life around into the way it is now, is extremely inspiring, and not only to myself but also to other young people around the world.

Sophia x

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

