Top 5 Netflix Shows

As a media production student, we are encouraged to watch programmes and so it would be rude not to sit down and binge episode after episode, series after series.. right? Or at least that’s what I like to tell myself..

Once I find a television show on Netflix that I like, I can often be found binging on that particular show, until I have finished all the series or am completely up to date with it, if it is an on-going show, so, I thought I’d share with you guys, my person favourite top 5 Netflix shows that I have watched.

1.
HouseLogo

I’ve only just started watching House, but I’m completely hooked. It’s an American show that’s set in a hospital, so if you’re from the UK, I guess you could say that it’s like Holby City or Casualty, although, rather than centring around a number of characters, there is a main character in which the show is centred about a sarcastic introvert named Dr. Gregory House. Each episode has a different medical story, however, there is always some sort of drama going on with House and his team of doctors. One of the doctors, Allison Cameron, you may recognise as Emma Swan, from the hit TV show, Once Upon a Time.

2.tumblr_n4n1b45jLl1rzt41jo1_500h.jpg

My friend Jacqueline, got me absolutely obsessed with this show last year, and by obsessed, I’m talking, I watched it every single day until I was up to date with the current episodes! It’s a fairly complicated show, so the only way that I can describe it, is that there is a group of 5 friends, and one person, only known as ‘A’,  who wants to sabotage those friends as it were and make their lives absolute hell and whilst the friends try and figure out who ‘A’ is, as well as dealing with their own personal lives, there are a number of different twists and turn within the story itself. I highly recommend for anyone to watch it, and if you already do watch it and have theories PLL, please do let me know in the comments! I love reading and hearing about all different theories that people have.

3.Rdr_logo

As the name suggests, this is quite literally a Drag Race. Basically, a number of men (I think it’s about 15, but I can’t fully remember if I’m honest), compete in a competition to be,what is named throughout the series as, America’s Next Drag Superstar. It’s a funny and comical show, however, I do recommend that you are at least 15 years or over when watching it, as there is some quite strong language in there, but it’s definitely one to watch, if you want something comical, but easy-watching.

4.skinsLOGO

First off, I want to begin by saying that I mean the British version of Skins, as I believe not only myself but a great number of people can also agree with me that it is a lot better than the US version. It’s about a group of teenagers, living in Bristol and each storyline shows the sort of things that teenagers have to deal with, such as sexuality, eating disorders, depression.. the list is endless, although these storylines are obviously exaggerated for the purpose of entertainment, they are still extremely well portrayed by the numerous actors that take part in the show, in addition to this, a lot of well respected actors also started off at this show, a few being, Nicholas Hoult, Kaya Scodelario, Jack O’Connell, and Dakota Blue Richards.

5. Orange_is_the_new_Black

Last, but most certainly not least is the well talked about show, Orange Is The New Black, set in a women’s federal prison institution and based on the autobiography by Piper Kerman. Personally, I love this show for the comedy and drama mixture, as well as the fantastic actresses and actors that are in this show. Admittedly, it did take me a while to recognise Laura Prepon from That 70s Show, but if you also watch closely, you can also recognise a few others from a number of different shows, such as, one of the actresses was a character on Star Trek!

 

So that’s it, my top 5 Netflix shows. Let me know what yours are in the comments below and if you watch any of the ones I have listed here!

Sophia x

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

