Never Grow Up

Recently, I discovered The New Generation project, which was created by the lovely Hideway Girl. She created it in a way to change the way society thinks and I for one, think it is an absolutely fantastic project. If you want to read a little bit more about it, then please click here bcause I’m sure she explains it a lot better than I do!

This weeks topic that she has chosen, is ‘a little bit of advice’, and so, whilst also hoping that I’m not too late, I wanted to share the best advice with you that I can.

Never grow up. That is honestly the best advice that I can give anyone. I mean, obviously at some point you have to be a ‘grown up’, in the aspect of paying bills, mortgages and being responsible ect. but mentally, you can absolutely be a child for the most part.

As a child, you are simply carefree and happy, and you can still be like that. That mentality of life can keep you going through the rough, complicated times. Being happy, is something that everyone could use a little bit more of in our lives, and whilst we’re young, we don’t care about what anyone thinks of us. We are us, and that is enough. We aren’t at that age yet in which we start taking comments personally, and letting them affect how we act, but ignore that. Do not be afraid to be exactly who you are.

Growing up is one of the most overrated things in the world. Stay a child in mind and heart. Laugh until you can no more and stop caring what others say about you. The only opinion that should matter to you, is that of which you have of yourself and nothing else. Being a child at heart, may perhaps make you happier than you ever could be as an adult.

Although, there are a few things that I do want to mention. Cherish every single moment of being the age that you are.

This year is the year that I turn 18 years old, and in the UK, that legally makes me an adult. I spent my entire childhood wishing that I was older, an adult in fact, but now that I’m here.. I don’t like it. This is my second piece of advice. Do not wish your childhood away. Keep your innocence. When you go on your first date, you may hate the fact that your parent(s) want to drop you off at the door of the cinema or wherever it may be, do not forget that although you are growing up, they are also getting older. Allow them to cherish the time that they have with you, and the milestones in life that you will take. Make as many memories as you possible can. Try and memorise the sounds of your parents voices, their footsteps on the stairs and their laughs because everything you have, one day won’t be there anymore so cherish it while you have it.

So that’s it. My 2 pieces of advice. Cherish your childhood while you still have it, and when you no longer have it, keep it close to your heart and still be a child at heart because there’s absolutely no harm in it.

Sophia x

 

2 thoughts on “Never Grow Up

  1. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone
    during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge
    you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, good blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

