Always.

Cancer won again, and this time, it stole the life of one of the most arguably important lives in the British arts.

Professor Severus Snape, is a character that I grew up with, along with all of the other literary characters that J.K. Rowling filled my childhood with. He was the character that I learnt to love to hate and he showed that behind cruelty and evil, hides hurt and love. He taught me to think critically about the characters that I love. Admittedly, Snape was not a good man, but Alan Rickman definitely was.

One of my favourite stories, that just gives a slight insight into his character, is that while on the set of Harry Potter, a rather young Rupert Grint, drew an extremely unflattering picture of Alan and instead of being offended or insulted by it, he asked Rupert to sign it, and since that day, Alan kept it framed in his house.

In addition, one of my favourite quotes from Alan Rickman is:

When I’m 80 years old and sitting in my rocking chair, I’ll be reading Harry Potter.
And my family will say to me, “After all this time?”
And I will say, “Always.”

Reading this quote back now, the day after he passed away, I’m not entirely sure what pains me more.. the fact that he had such optimism that he would live to be 80, or the fact that he compared his love for Harry Potter, to that of Professor Snape’s love for Lily.

I can only imagine that there are a number of ‘wizards’ and ‘witches’ raising their wands in honour of this great actor tonight.

To Alan, thank you for making my childhood so wonderfully amazing. To Snape, Always.

 

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Always.

  1. This is so beautiful, I love how you talked about Snape’s character because Alan definitely gave him dimension.

    Like

Leave a Reply

